Morris County Forgery Defense Lawyers
Generally speaking, people accused of passing bad checks are not necessarily criminal masterminds. Most often, people accused of this crime are in dire financial straits and are acting out of desperation. Whatever the case, passing bad checks is a serious allegation that can be very damaging to your life. If you or someone you love has been charged with this crime, you need an attorney who knows how to work out a favorable resolution to this situation. We are the New Jersey bad checks defense attorneys of Maynard & Sumner, LLC. We are devoted to helping clients from every walk of life. As a result, we offer payment plans and accept major credit cards. Of equal importance, we will act quickly and efficiently to minimize the damage of this charge.
Defending Clients Against All Types of Bad Check Allegations
In order to prove that a defendant is guilty of passing a bad check, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the person issued a check or money order knowing that the check or money order will not be honored.
The severity of a bad check charge depends largely on the amount of the check in question. Under New Jersey law, bad checks in the amount of $75,000 or more are charged as second-degree crimes. Bad checks between $1,000 and $74,999.99 are charged as third-degree crimes. Bad checks between $200 and $999.99 are fourth-degree crimes, and any bad check under $200 is charged as a disorderly persons offense. Theft by deception charges may be brought alongside bad check charges.
In many cases, our investigation will reveal that Superior Court or Municipal Court is not the appropriate forum to resolve these disputes. We will explore ways to resolve these underlying charges without having to plead guilty, including paying restitution to your creditors.
Contact Maynard & Sumner, LLC
Call 973-540-0054 or e-mail our lawyers to schedule your free consultation.